Oshoala Creates African Record, Emerges Most Decorated African Player

World acclaimed woman footballer, known as “Agba Baller” (experienced ball player) Asisat Oshoala on Monday in far away Marrakesh, Morocco created African football record by winning the Africa’s Best Woman Player for a breath taking sixth time.

Oshoala who plays in the Attack for Barcelona female team had won the trophy in 2014; 2016; 2017 missed 2018 but won in 2019 would have probably won in 2020 and 2021 but there was no award because of Covid 19; won last year and gleefully lifted it in 2023.

Oshoala was shortlisted for Ballon D’or, but lost out in the last short listing.

Her success made her the most decorated African player Male or Female above Yay Toure of Ivory Coast; former Lions of Cameroon Captain, Samuel Etoo Fils and her Nigerian predecessor called Goal Processor, Perpetual Nwokocha.

Oshoala who flew into Marrakesh in a private jet like her country man, Victor Osimhen, who won the men’s title was highly elated in her deep green wear as she posed for photographs with Osimhen and the blessed President of the Nigerian Football Federation.

Agba Baller had beaten South Africa’s Thembi Kgatlana and Zambia’s Barbara Banda who both played well at the last Womens’ World Cup.

The NFF President himself strolled to the platform like a king to receive the Best National Female Team Award given to the most decorated and prominent African women’s team in the world, the Super Falcons.

Nigeria obviously beat Morocco and South Africa in this category.

Stylish magnetic hands and penalty stopper, Paris FC who may also clinch European Goal Keeper award, Nigeria’s Chiamaka Nnadozie won the Glove Award ahead of Khadija Er-Rmichi of AS Far and Morocco and Mamelodi Sundown and Bayana Babayana of South Africa female goal tender, Andile Dlamini. It was, however, looking ridiculous that CAF named Dlamini as Goalkeeper for Africa X1 Goalkeeper leaving out their Best Goalkeeper.

Nigeria’s Deborah Abiodun of Pittsburgh Panthers and Comfort Yeboah of Ghana were beaten to the Young Female Award title by Lille of France and Morocco’s Nesryne El Chad.

Desiree Ellis who was former Bayana Bayana Captain retained the Best Female Coach award ahead of Reynard Pedros of Morocco and Jerry Tshabalala also of South Africa.

Mamelodi Sundown of South Africa won the Best women Club trophy ahead of AS Far of Morocco and Sporting Casablanca of Morocco.

The Ref award for male and female will be included in next year’s award.