Ogun TESCOM Appoints 5 Zonal Education Secretaries

The Chairman of Ogun State Teaching Service Commission, Olalekan Ifede, has appointed five zonal education secretaries to fill the void left by the elevation of some of the secretaries to the positions of principal and vice-principal of secondary schools.

Ifede, at the swearing-in held at the TESCOM conference room, Oke-Mosan, Abeokuta, said the exercise was crucial to build management capacity and provide equal representation in each zone of the state.

The chairman charged the appointed secretaries to be diligent and see themselves as the eyes and ears of the commission in whichever zones they were posted, saying zonal offices were extensions of the office of the chairman at the zones.

“By our assessment, we find the appointees fit for the job. Their duty is to oversee all schools within their designated zones and furnish the commission with updated reports on schools monthly, among others. They are encouraged to relate closely with the old Zonal Secretaries so they can get well acquainted with the job requirements,” he said.

Speaking on behalf of other inductees, Mr Habeeb Abdullah expressed gratitude to the commission for the opportunity to serve, saying they would discharge their duties as the office demanded of them to uplift education activities in zones across the state.

In his remarks, Permanent Secretary, TESCOM, Dr Abdulwaheed Olanloye, enjoined the new secretaries to comport themselves well and discharge their duties diligently for the advancement of education in the state.