President Bola Tinubu

List of Media Houses Whose Journalists Were Banned From Aso Villa

The Socio-Economic Rights and Accountability Project (SERAP) has delivered a 48-hour ultimatum to President Bola Tinubu regarding the recent prohibition of 25 media organizations from entering Aso Rock.

In a statement on Sunday, SERAP’s Deputy Director, Kolawole Oluwadare, made this announcement.

The organization’s response was triggered by the revocation of accreditation for 25 journalists who covered the President’s activities.

The affected media outlets encompass Vanguard, Galaxy TV, Ben TV, MITV, ITV Abuja, PromptNews, ONTV, and Liberty.

SERAP appealed to President Tinubu to use his public authority to overturn the ban placed on these media organizations at the Presidential Villa.

The organization emphasized that media freedom stood as a fundamental pillar of Nigeria’s democratic structure.

SERAP argued that the prohibition on these media entities should be lifted in the interest of the public and to enhance transparency and accountability.

The statement concluded by noting that if President Tinubu’s response was not received within 48 hours, SERAP would contemplate initiating appropriate legal actions to compel the government to comply with their request in the name of the public interest