Electricity: Ibarapa Leaders Visit Minister, Seek Timely Completion of 15-year-old Power Project

Ibarapa leaders under the aegis of Initiative for Ibarapa Electricity have appealed to the Minister of Power, Chief Adebayo Adelabu, for the timely completion of the power project in the zone.

The high-powered delegation led by the Olu of Igboora, Ọba Jimoh Titiloye, made the appeal during a visit to the minister on Tuesday in Ibadan.

The delegation comprised representatives from the seven towns and three local governments that make up Ibarapa zone of Òyó State.

They were received by the minister; Managing Director, Transmission Company of Nigeria(TCN), Dr Ahmed Abdulaziz and Managing Director, Rural Electrification Agency, Mr Ahmad Salihijo Ahmad.

Oba Titiloye appealed to the minister for assistance in timely completion of an electricity powerline project that had been on-going for 15 years.

Chief Akinyemi Akinlabi, a member of the delegation and convener of the initiative, highlighted the adverse effect of lack of electricity in the community.

Akinlabi said that lack of electricity in the communities had resulted in increased crime rate, reduced productivity, closure of industries and generally low quality of life.

In response, Abdulaziz acknowledged the stages of the project’s completion, blaming the delay on lack of funds.

The minister expressed familiarity with the challenges faced by the Ibarapa people, promising to explore solutions within the shortest possible time.

On the delegation were Onidere of Idere, Oba Aderoju Kingsley; Oluaso of Iberekodo, Oba Adedamola Badmus and Onilala of Lanlate, Oba Sunday Oladejo.

Also present were Asawo of Ayete, Oba Okeniyi Ewuola; Asigangan of Igangan, Oba Rafiu Ariwoola and Odofin of Eruwa, Oba Olayide Ojedapo

Others on the list were Hon. Fatai Salawu, Hon. Habib Ibrahim, Hon. Funsho Adeleke, Hon. Bimbo Adepoju, Hon. Bayo Aderounmu, and Mr Surajudeen Adegbite.