FG Sets Up 28-Member Committee for Tinubu’s First Anniversary

The Federal Government has inaugurated a 28-member Inter-Ministerial Committee tasked with planning and executing activities to mark the first anniversary of President Bola Tinubu’s administration.

The high-powered committee will oversee a week-long celebrations slated for May 22-29, 2024 to commemorate Tinubu’s one year in office.

The committee was inaugurated on Friday by Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Senator George Akume, who will serve as its chairman.

In his remarks, Akume in a statement by the Director Information in his office, Segun Imohiosen, stated that the celebrations aimed to render accountability to Nigerians on the Tinubu administration’s achievements in its first year and reaffirm its commitment to delivering on the “Renewed Hope Agenda.”

“The essence of this celebration is to render accountability to Nigerians by promoting the accomplishments of the present administration over the past year and also reassure our citizens that Government shall remain focused and committed to the implementation of the Renewed Hope Agenda for positive impact on the socio-economic life of Nigerians,” Akume said.

The 28-member committee comprises top cabinet ministers, security chiefs and other senior government officials.

It includes the Chief of Staff to the President Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila; Head of Civil Service, Dr. Folasade Yemi-Esan; FCT Minister, Barr. Nyesom Wike; Finance Minister, Wale Edun, and others.

To ensure seamless execution, 11 sub-committees were also inaugurated to oversee specific aspects like protocol, venue, media, security and a national parade.

Some approved activities include press briefings, sectoral performance updates, a First Lady’s programme, national discourse, infrastructure fund launch and a presidential national broadcast.

“The approved activities for the anniversary are as follows: Press Briefing on Wednesday 22nd May, 2024; Sectoral Updates from Thursday 23rd – Friday 24th May, 2024; First Lady’s Programme from Saturday 25th – Monday 27th May, 2024.

“National Discourse on Monday 27th May, 2024; Presidential Launch Renewed Hope Infrastructure Development Fund (RHIDF) and Media Parley on Tuesday 28th May, 2024 and the celebration will be climaxed with National Broadcast, Mini Parade (BoG) and State Anniversary Dinner on Wednesday 29th May, 2024

The committee’s terms of reference empower it to plan and execute all approved anniversary events, co-opt relevant organizations or individuals, and handle any additional tasks required for the success of the celebrations.