Ọọni Presents Crown to Kwara Monarch

The Ọọni of Ifè, Ọba Adeyeye Ogunwusi, has presented a beaded crown to Ọba Sharafadeen Babalola, the Onijagbo of Ijagbo in Oyun Local Government Area of Kwara State.

Speaking at the ceremony held on Saturday on the premises of the Oyun Baptist High School, Ijagbo, the Ọọni said that the crown he presented to the town was from Ilé-Ifè, the cradle of the Yorùbá race.

Ọọni, speaking in Yorùbá, said, “The crown presented today to Ọba Sharafadeen Babalola is from the Giesi Ruling House, Ile-Ife. It is the grace I enjoy, being the king. The crown will bring peace, harmony and tranquility to Ijagbo.

“The people of Ijagbo have already started to enjoy the crown and it has brought good things to the town because it is the crown that brought the nomination of your son, Prince Lateef Fagbemi (SAN), as a ministerial candidate to represent the people of Kwara State in the new cabinet. It has brought good tidings for the people.”

Ọba Ogunwusi commended President Bola Tinubu for the ministerial nomination of Fagbemi, describing it as positive.

“He (Fagbemi) is a sound lawyer and a good material who will contribute to the development of the country,” Ọọni said.

Ọba Ogunwusi appealed to the people of Ijagbo to be united and support the new monarch for the development of the town.

He prayed for Ọba Babalola to enjoy good health, long life and a peaceful reign, like his immediate predecessor.

Ọba Babalola, in his response, expressed appreciation to the Ooni for the beaded crown and for taking the time to present it personally, saying the love shown to the people portrayed him as a great leader.

The National President of Ijagbo Descendants Union, Chief Tunde Oyawoye, thanked the Governor of Kwara State, Mallam AbdulRaman AbdulRazaq, for the approval of the monarch and presentation of staff of office on June 17, 2023.

Present at the event were the Deputy Governor of Kwara State, Mr Kayode Alabi, who represented the governor; Alhaji Yusuf Ali (SAN); Olofa of Offa, Òbà Mufutau Gbadamosi; Olupo of Ajase-Ipo, Ọba Sharafadeen Atotoloye; Olojoku of Ojoku, Ọba Razak Afolabi; Onipee of Ipee, Oba Adebayo Lawal; and Onira of Ira, Ọba Oyewale Oyetoro, among other dignitaries.