FG Announces Scholarship Awards for Nigerian Tertiary Students, Sets Criteria

The Federal Government has announced institution of scholarship awards and criteria for same for students of tertiary institutions in the country.

The announcement was made by the Federal Ministry of Education on Wednesday night, April 2, 2024, in a statement signed by Mrs Didi Esther Walson-Jack, the ministry’s permanent secretary.

Tagged, “2023/2024 FEDERAL GOVERNMENT SCHOLARSHIP AWARDS (NIGERIAN SCHOLARSHIP AND EDUCATION BURSARY AWARD)”, the Federal Ministry of Education invited interested and qualified Nigerians to participate in the 2023/2024 Nigerian Scholarship Award (NSA) and Education Bursary Award (EBA) tenable in Nigerian public tertiary institutions.

As part of eligibility for the programme,
all applicants must be full-time students of any tertiary institution in the country.

“Applicants for Postgraduate studies should possess a minimum of first degree with Second Class Honours in the Upper Division. Applicants must be registered Full-Time students of Federal or State Universities.

“All other applicants (UG, HND & NCE) must be registered full-time students in their second year or above, in Federal or State Universities, Polytechnics, Monotechnics or Colleges of Education.
“All undergraduate Scholarship applicants including Persons with disabilities must have at least 4.0 Cumulative Grade Points Aggregate (CGPA) on a five (5) point scale or 5.0 on a 7 point scale or its equivalent.
“All NCE and HND applicants must have a CGPA of 3.5 and above on a scale of 4.0″, the ministry stated.

All qualified candidates were advised to visit the Federal Ministry of Education’s website www.education.gov.ng and click on Federal Scholarship Board ICON on the Home Page.

They are expected to read the guidelines and then complete the application form online and print the completed form.

The ministry warned that double application would be disqualified.

“Attach the following documents: Letter of Admission to the Institution, CGPA result, National Identity Number, State of Origin Certificate”, the ministry stated, adding that the registration portal would be opened from 2nd April 2024 to 13th May 2024.

The degrees listed for scholarship included Science and Technology, Medicine and Medical Sciences, Education, Agriculture, Liberal Arts/Social/Management Sciences, Entrepreneurial Studies, Information and Communication Technology, Environmental Sciences and Law.