Nigeria University Fires 20 Lecturers

The management of University of Calabar has terminated the appointments of a group of 20 lecturers who were initially appointed as
graduate assistants from various departments within the institution.

The Registrar, Mr. Gabriel O. Egbe, had signed separate letters of termination, stating that the reason for their dismissal was their violation of Section 3.9.3 (iv) of the 2014 Regulations governing the Condition of Service of Staff of the University of Calabar.

It is important to note that the mentioned section specifies that if a graduate assistant fails to obtain a master’s degree within four (4) years, his or her appointment will be terminated.

All the affected staff members had reportedly served for a period ranging from five to nine years after their appointment, without providing evidence of having obtained a master’s degree during their tenure.

The terminated staff members, whose employment termination is effective from June 6th, 2023, include Nkanu, Celestine Uno, Samson, Cyprian Ushie, and Chukwu Chukwe Agube from the Department of Curriculum and Teaching. Advertisements UNICAL gate

Other affected staff members are Adie Anthony Unimke from the Department of Geology, Nnenna Williams Afamuefuna from Anatomy, Okoro Bernard Chibueze from Microbiology, Eze Ohara Enyinyi from Physics, Udo Nsibiet Enefiok from Mathematics, Udeze Leonard Chinedu from Computer Science, Adie John Betiang from Vocational Education, Ikpo Patrick Andelehe from Social Science Education, and Edet Itam Ben from Human Kinetics.

Others include Arihi Blessing Ebere from Music, Baba Ganiyu Olosasa from Crop Science, Okpe John Ogbang from Forestry and Wildlife Resources Management, Georgeline Elohor Akporume from Agric Economics, Ucheji Ojuigo Nancy from Mechanical Engineering, and Onwe Peter Daffin from Electrical & Electronics Engineering.

Adah Pius Obua and Samuel Edem Okon-Edem, both from Genetics & Biotechnology, are also affected.

The dismissed staff members were advised to return all university property in their possession to their respective heads of department and provide evidence of clearance from any outstanding financial obligations to the Bursary and the University Librarian before their final disengagement.

In the meantime, the Vice-Chancellor of the University, Prof Florence Obi, has announced the promotion of 35 academic staff members of the university to the professorial rank within the institution.

During the 234th Senate Meeting of the university held at the Senate Chambers of the institution, Prof Obi disclosed that 13 individuals were promoted to the rank of professor, while 22 were promoted to the rank of associate professor.

Among the newly appointed professors are Dr. Basil Akwuegwu (Edu Management), Dr. Bob Mgbeje (Biochemistry), Dr. Emon Duke (Nursing Science), Dr. Oluwatosin Kennedy (Animal Science), Dr. Mary Sule (Education Management), Dr. Joseph Ogar (Philosophy), Dr. Item Atanghwo (Biochemistry), and Rev (Fr) Dr. Imo Obot (Educational Foundation).

Others appointed as professors are Dr. Ephraim Ikegbu (Philosophy), Dr. (Mrs.) Aniefiok Edet (Educational Management), Dr. (Mrs.) Josephine Nanjwan (Special Education), Dr. Emmanuel Bassey Eyo (Philosophy), and Dr. Mesembe Edet (Philosophy).